Les Salons d’Edgar – a gem of a restaurant in the heart of St Roch

I went to eat at Les Salons d’Edgar with friends the other night and again, I was not disappointed! It was the second time we went to eat here together and believe me, it will not be the last!

The atmosphere of this old theater converted into a restaurant is absolutely amazing. The two main parts that make up this trendy resto-bar in Saint-Roch are decorated in warm and envelopping colours. The soft lighting, candles on each table, leather seats, and attentive service help make this place ideal for an intimate dinner. At the bar, the place is just as appropriate for an evening with friends! Thick curtains are used to separate the different sections of the facility. At the back, there are pool tables and some chairs as well.

The last time I went, I ate a steak cooked rare, just like I like it. However, I could not help but salivate at the generous duck leg of my friend, sitting right in front of me. This time, there was no jealousy – we all ordered the duck confit! A real treat. Under the crispy skin salted just right was the most tender duck meat I have ever tasted. To accompany our meal, the house fries were equally tasty, and the duo green salad coleslaw added some freshness to our plates.

To end the meal, I chose the cheesecake, my favorite dessert. Unfortunately, I was a little disappointed. The cake lacked flavour and only looked more like a store-bought desert. Even the chocolate cake my friend ordered was not a success. However, apart from that little mishap, our dinner was perfect.

Les Salons d’Edgar also have a reduced menu for late night cravings. There are nachos, poutine, chicken wings and other appetizers, enough to satisfy both small and large appetites!

Prices are reasonable, more or less $45 per person, wine and service included. The relaxing and envelopping ambiance will charm you for sure! During your next visit to Quebec City, do yourself a favor and enjoy a delicious meal at Les Salons d’Edgar. Who knows, maybe you’ll stay there for some wine, a pint of beer or a game of pool?

This entry was posted in Bars, Restaurants, Saint-Roch, Things to do in Quebec City and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

